_DSC2258 cropped.jpeg


Conductor Jane Kim is the recipient of the 2018 Charles Schiff Conducting Prize. Jane studied with Alan Gilbert at Juilliard, receiving her Master of Music degree in Orchestral Conducting. Passionate about music education and community outreach, she currently serves as Assistant Conductor with the Little Orchestra Society and Guest Conductor of the New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra. Jane also continues her work at Juilliard as cover conductor for the Juilliard Orchestra and Pre-College ensembles. Previously, Jane served as Music Director of the Juilliard Pre-College String Ensemble and conductor of the Juilliard Lab Orchestra. Additionally, she has conducted for Juilliard’s Focus Festival, the Composition Department, and Community Outreach program. Her summer activities include the Aspen Music Festival, which she attended as a Conducting Fellow, and the Pierre Monteux Music Festival, where she was named a Bernard Osher Scholar.

A California native, Jane was Guest Conductor of Eco Ensemble in Berkeley, where she spearheaded collaborations with rising young composers. She led the U.C. Berkeley Symphony Orchestra in performances as the Associate Conductor and served as Music Director of the Chamber Orchestra and Summer Symphony in Berkeley.

Jane began her musical studies at the age of four on the violin. She graduated with High Honors from U.C. Berkeley, where she was awarded both the Milton G. Witzel Memorial Prize for Viola Performance and the Eisner Memorial Prize for Creative Achievement in the Arts. An avid chamber musician and educator, Jane works as a chamber music coach at the California Music Preparatory Academy. Her own chamber appearances include a performance with the Danish String Quartet at Hertz Hall.

Jane is a proud recipient of the Bruno Walter Memorial Scholarship, the Molly Frank and Aliki Perroti Scholarship, and The Van Lier Arts Fellowship. Her mentors include Alan Gilbert, James Ross, Robert Spano, and David Milnes, and she has worked with conductors such as Fabio Luisi, Gustavo Dudamel, James Gaffigan, Johannes Schlaefli, and Mark Stringer, as well as many others.